Log in

2017 NZPSA

November 29 - December 1

The Department of Politics at the University of Otago is very pleased to be hosting the 2017 NZPSA Conference in Dunedin as part of our 50th anniversary celebrations.  The conference will be held on the 29 November - 1 December with a postgraduate workshop on Tuesday 28 November and we very much hope that you will be able to join us.

The theme of this year’s conference is (Dis)ordering Politics: Exclusion, Resistance and Participation.  The conference features three public events to explore the theme – a keynote lecture by Prof David McNally of the University of York (Canada), and two panel discussions on Indigenous Politics and the New Zealand Election – in addition to the usual topic streams.


The detailed programme with speakers is now available: 2017 NZPSA Conference Programme - updated 16 November.pdf  

PROGRAMME WITH AUDIO: The final conference programme outline (minus details of speakers), with audio for the public panels and keynote speech is here.

Conference booklet, with abstracts is here.

Call for Papers

Please send a 200–250 word abstract with your name, title and affiliation in a word document to the appropriate Stream Convenor:

Political Theory: Dr Carla Lam carla.lam@otago.ac.nz

New Zealand Politics: Associate Professor Brian Roper brian.roper@otago.ac.nz 

Comparative Politics: Professor Bill Harris william.harris@otago.ac.nz

International Politics: Professor Robert Patman: robert.patman@otago.ac.nz

Indigenous Politics: Professor Janine Hayward janine.hayward@otago.ac.nz

Environmental Politics: Dr Chris Rudd chris.rudd@otago.ac.nz

Political Economy: Professor Philip Nel philip.nel@otago.ac.nz

Media and Politics: Dr Brett Nicholls brett.nicholls@otago.ac.nz

To facilitate your arrangements, you will be notified whether your abstract has been accepted within 1–2 weeks of its receipt.

Further information and the registration form are available on the conference website.

Postgraduate Workshop

The 2017 Postgraduate Workshop will be held on Tuesday 28 November between 1pm and 5.30pm, followed by dinner and a social event. Please click for details about the workshop and contact information to arrange participation.

Further information


The co-chairs of the conference are Professor Janine Hayward and Associate Professor Vicki Spencer.  For general inquiries, please email: NZPSA2017@otago.ac.nz

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software